Kasich announces appointments to state boards

Lindsey Landthorn
Staff Writer

Last month, Governor John Kasich announced two new appointments to the Ohio State Dental Board (OSDB), both of whom were recommended for appointment by the Ohio Dental Association (ODA).
Dr. Lawrence Kaye of Akron was re-appointed to a second term as a member of the OSDB as a dental specialist and is currently serving as the board’s president. Dr. Kaye is a specialist in periodontology and has been in private practice for more than 30 years. He is a past president of the Akron Dental Society, a member of the Akron Capital Club for the Ohio Dental Political Action Committee and a past chair of the ODA Annual Session Committee. Dr. Kaye also serves as a part-time instructor in periodontology at Case Western Reserve University School of Dental Medicine. He received his B.S. from Marietta College and his D.D.S. and Certificate of Periodontology from Emory University School of Dentistry. Dr. Kaye’s term on the board began on October 5, 2011 and ends on April 5, 2015.
Dr. Gregory McDonald of Springboro was appointed to the board as a general dentist. Dr. McDonald previously served one term on the OSDB from 2003-08, including serving as the board’s president in 2007-08. He is in private practice and currently serves as chair of the ODA Forensic Dental Team. He is a past member of the ODA Council on Dental Care Programs and Dental Practice, a past president of the Dayton Dental Society and a former Clearcreek Township Trustee. Dr. McDonald received his B.G.S. from the University of Dayton and his D.D.S. from the University of Tennessee College of Dentistry. Dr. McDonald’s term as a Board member began on October 5, 2011 and ends on April 5, 2015.
ODA President, Dr. Mark Bronson commended the board appointments. “Both Drs. Kaye and McDonald are experienced board members who have good relationships with organized dentistry and are committed to promoting patient safety and quality oral health care in Ohio,” he said.
The OSDB is comprised of nine dentists, three dental hygienists and one member of the public at large. Drs. Kaye and McDonald join board members Douglas Wallace, D.D.S., Ketki B. Desai, D.D.S., Jacinto Beard, D.D.S., W. Chris Hanners, D.D.S., Marybeth Shaffer, D.D.S., Mary Ellen Wynn, D.D.S., Clifford Jones, R.D.H., Linda Staley, R.D.H., Constance Clark, R.D.H. and James Lawrence, public member. One position on the board designated for a general dentist remains vacant.