2018 ODA Annual Session featured 3 top speakers in 1 convenient location

practical ODA

The 2018 ODA Annual Session featured many hands-on workshops, team building courses, front office courses and more.

The 2018 ODA Annual Session – More Engagement = More Achievement – featured top-notch CE for the entire dental team, an Exhibit Hall where attendees could comparison shop and purchase products for their office, networking opportunities and team building.

More than 4,000 dental professionals attended the 2018 ODA Annual Session, including 1,108 dentists and 368 dental students.

“This was the best ODA Annual Session that I have been to … by far,” wrote an attendee in the Annual Session survey. “The speakers were great, it was well organized, every little detail was planned out well.”

This year’s Annual Session featured three of dentistry’s most notable speakers – Dr. Howard Farran, Dr. Gordon Christensen and Dr. Roger Levin.

Farran was a first-time speaker at ODA Annual Session, and he also hosted a Q&A in the Exhibit Hall, where attendees had an opportunity to ask questions and hear Farran speak on issues affecting the profession.

This year’s most popular courses included “New Game. New Rules. New Playbook” presented by Levin, “One-Day Dental MBA” presented by Farran, “Modulating Periodontal Inflammation Through Nutrition” presented by Dr. Timothy Donley, “Effective Anesthesia or Shots in the Dark” presented by Dr. Mel Hawkins, “The Christensen Bottom Line 2018” presented by Christensen, “How Hygienists can Effectively Talk Perio” presented by Donley and “Stay Out of Jail: Avoid Coding Errors” presented by Dr. Charles Blair.

ODA Annual Session also featured many hands-on workshops, team building courses, front office courses and more.

“I traveled from Kentucky for your meeting specifically for pediatric dental CE,” wrote an attendee in the Annual Session survey. “Having a full day of courses in the same location was a luxury and the quality of CE was excellent. I will be attending more ODA meetings in the future.”

New this year, Annual Session featured Fireside Chats, which featured LIVE, interactive discussions on specific topics held in the Exhibit Hall. These courses were free to attendees, and featured a small group setting to facilitate discussion.

Another new feature this year in the Exhibit Hall was the Knowledge Bar, which was a learning lab where attendees could meet with a variety of companies in a non-sales, educational environment. Each day different topics were highlighted with knowledgeable colleagues and product representatives to answer questions.

This year’s Exhibit Hall featured more than 230 booths, and attendees had the opportunity to test different products, ask questions and comparison shop.

Callahan Celebration of Excellence

In conjunction with the ODA Annual Session, the Callahan Celebration of Excellence honoring outgoing ODA President Dr. Steve Moore took place on Sept. 14. The celebration also recognized the 2018 Awards of Excellence winners.

The 2018 Awards of Excellence winners include:

  • Callahan Memorial Award – Dr. Rolf Behrents
  • Distinguished Dentist Award – Dr. Kim Gardner
  • Achievement Award – Dr. James Palermo
  • Access to Dental Care Program – Children’s Oral Health Network and the Delta Dental Center at Oyler School
  • Marvin Fisk Humanitarian Award – Dr. Steven Hoagland
  • Wayne Hiatt Rising Star Award – Dr. Kyle Bogan

For more information about the award winners, visit www.oda.org or check the July, August and September issues of the “ODA Today.”

The ODA Leadership Pin was awarded to Dr. Roderick Adams, a general dentist from Cleveland. Adams has been active in councils and committees at all levels of the tripartite for many years, including having served as chair of the ODA Council on Access to Care and Public Service, Credentials, Rules and Order Committee and Subcommittee on Judicial Affairs, and as a member of the Ad Interim Committee, Leadership Nomination Committee, Council on Dental Care Programs and Dental Practice, Strategic Planning Committee, ODPAC Board, and as a member of the ODA House of Delegates. He also has served as a member of the ADA House of Delegates and as a long-term assigned dentist to advocate on behalf of dentistry for Ohio’s 11th Congressional District.

In announcing Adams as the Leadership Pin recipient, ODA Immediate Past President Dr. Steve Moore said “this person sets the example of outstanding service and leadership in our profession and that delivers a powerful message that encourages others to take action.”

The ODA Leadership Pin recognizes members who demonstrate leadership in service to the ODA and their peers, a high level of volunteerism within the profession, and a commitment to organized dentistry. The ODA Executive Committee selects a recipient who is a positive influence in growth and development of the ODA – and who is a true role model for future leaders in organized dentistry.

Ohio Dental Political Action Committee (ODPAC) awards were also presented at the celebration, honoring the Eastern Ohio Dental Society for the highest percentage of membership for a small society, the Akron Dental Society for the highest percentage of membership for a large society and the Akron Dental Society for “Deepest Pockets for Dentistry” (highest average contribution).

Table Clinics

On Sept. 14, ODA Annual Session attendees had the opportunity to earn up to two hours of free CE by attending Table Clinics. The presentations covered a wide variety of topics, and a panel of judges rated each of them.

This year’s winners are:

  • Best of show – Dr. Cecilia Margraff
  • Auxiliary – Elizabeth McClure and Shawna Staud
  • First Place Dental Resident – Dr. Joseph DePalo
  • Second Place Dental Resident – Dr. Payal Verma and Dr. Marissa Bergthold
  • Dental Pre-Doctoral – Caitlin Wright.

Save the date!

The 153rd ODA Annual Session will be Oct. 3-6, 2019, at the Greater Columbus Convention Center. Visit www.oda.org/events for more information and to register.

Download your CE slips and course handouts

Attendees can obtain CE credit verification and download handouts for courses attended at the 2018 ODA Annual Session at https://www.prereg.net/2018/oda