147th ODA Annual Session full of smiling faces

The 2013 ODA Annual Session was “The Source” for continuing education, supplies, camaraderie, entertainment and more.

“I think the 2013 ODA Annual Session was a success on many levels,” said Dr. Bruce Grbach, 2013 Annual Session chair. “Most importantly, I saw many smiling faces and a lot of good times being shared by just about everyone.”

More than 4,700 dental professionals attended Annual Session, which was Sept. 19-22 at the Greater Columbus Convention Center. Attendees had the chance to learn a new skill or improve a technique by attending CE courses, purchase products for their practices and connect with colleagues and friends at special events.

“My favorite part of any ODA Annual Session is the camaraderie that is built between attendees, exhibitors and speakers,” Grbach said. “It’s great to see friendships being made and renewed in the classrooms and the Exhibit Hall. The feeling of being part of this great event is something you can’t experience at home. I invite you to join us in 2014 for ‘ODA Live!’”

The 2013 ODA Annual Session had a variety of speakers, covering topics for the entire dental team. Some of the most popular nationally known speakers who presented at this year’s Annual Session include Dr. Anthony Cardoza, Dr. Randy Huffines, Dr. David Rothman, Dr. Jeff Brucia, Dr. David Hornbrook, Dave Weber and Amy Morgan.

“It always makes me smile when I see how engaged our speakers are that they take the time to answer questions at breaks or at the end of a class,” Grbach said. “The Annual Session Committee tries hard to bring the very best nationally known speakers to our meeting, and it has been my pleasure to host these great and generous speakers.”

On Sept. 21, attendees had the opportunity to earn up to two hours of free CE by attending Table Clinics. The presentations covered a wide variety of topics, and a panel of judges rated each of them.

This year’s winners are: Best of Show: Dr. Jared Schellenberg and Dr. Ryan Shurtz; Auxiliary: Barbara Kinselman and Mary Kaye Scaramucci; First Place Graduate Dental Student: Dr. Caroline Ghattas Ayoub; and Second Place Graduate Dental Student: Dr. Long Nguyen.

Between CE courses, attendees also had the opportunity to shop the Exhibit Hall to purchase products for their practices. With more than 200 exhibitors present, the Exhibit Hall allowed attendees to try out products, compare prices and speak with knowledgeable representatives all in one place.

“The Exhibit Hall at the ODA Annual Session still is the premier place in Ohio and neighboring states to learn about new products and to explore the ever changing world of dental equipment,” Grbach said. “We are a dental shopper’s dream, offering so many things under one roof.”

One new opportunity in the Exhibit Hall this year was the Dentist’s New Product Roundtable, where attendees had the chance to learn about the latest products and technology up-close from representatives.

“Every ODA Annual Session is special in its own way,” Grbach said. “The ODA Annual Session Committee listens to the feedback that we receive from our attendees and exhibitors and tries to implement changes that will better our meeting. At the suggestion of our Exhibitor Advisory Committee, we tried the Dentist’s New Product Round Table on Saturday morning this year.”

But Annual Session wasn’t just about business. Several special events were held, including receptions, luncheons and celebrations, where attendees could reconnect with friends and meet new colleagues.

One special event, the Callahan Celebration of Excellence honoring outgoing ODA President Dr. Kim Gardner, recognized the 2013 Awards of Excellence winners.

2013 Awards of Excellence winners include:

  • Callahan Memorial Award: Dr. Sol Silverman
  • Distinguished Dentist Award: Dr. Joseph Crowley
  • Achievement Award: Dr. Jerold Goldberg
  • Marvin Fisk Humanitarian Award: Dr. Linda Smith
  • N. Wayne Hiatt Rising Star Award: Dr. Britt McCarthy

For more information about the award winners, visit www.oda.org or check the August and September issues of the “ODA Today.”

The ODA Leadership Pin was awarded to Dr. Tom Graham.

Ohio Dental Political Action Committee (ODPAC) awards were also presented at the celebration, honoring the Eastern Ohio Dental Society for the highest percentage of membership for a small society, and the Akron Dental Society for “Deepest Pockets for Dentistry” (highest average contribution) and the highest percentage of membership for a large society.

“I would like to thank all the attendees and other participants for making the 2013 ODA Annual Session ‘The Source’ for so many great things,” Grbach said. “I hope to see all of you in 2014 for ‘ODA Live!’”

Save the Date!

The ODA Annual Session Committee is already planning next year’s Annual Session. The 2014 Annual Session – “ODA Live!” – will be Sept. 11-14, 2014, at the Greater Columbus Convention Center. Save the date now and make sure to take advantage of all the opportunities that will be available at next year’s ODA Annual Session. For the most up-to-date information about Annual Session, be sure to like the ODA Annual Session Facebook page.